Wear your clothes.

This past weekend I had the pleasure of going to a recording studio in upstate New York and listening to a very talented musician by the name of Chris Velan record his upcoming album. I’ve been a fan of his  since my friend L (who happens to work for his record label and management) introduced me to his music. I heard the following song awhile ago…I want to say almost a year ago by now. I fell in love with it almost immediately. The lyrics are really powerful without even really trying to be.

I want you to listen to it and read the lyrics below. (I just typed them out, so they may be a tiny bit off). Then just think about them. Pretty moving stuff, if I do say so myself. I kind of see the song as a journey. When you’re growing up and don’t feel comfortable in your own skin. You want to be just like everyone else, but sooner or later you start to realize that you are exactly who you are supposed to be and you begin to really fall in love with yourself. I think that it’s all of the crap we go through in our lives that ultimately make us respect and love ourselves.

I hope you enjoy this song as much as I do.

On the day that I was born they say I came out wearing these same clothes
And since then I’ve been trying to find out where I got these same clothes
I went to every store, asked every tailor there could be
Looking for somebody with the same clothes as me
And it took awhile but I’ve learned there’s nobody with these same clothes.

When I wake this morning I’ll get up put on these same clothes.
And step into the sunlight and start walking in these same clothes.
And when the air turns cold and the clouds bring the rain, these clothes they will protect me until the skies clear up again.
And against the wind I’ll button up the collar on these same clothes.

When we first met I’m sure that I was showing off these same clothes.
And when I gave my heart to you I did so in these same clothes.
Before we made love and peeled off each one from our skin,
Until there was nothing left to keep you from coming in,
You saw who I am in the absence of these same clothes.

When they get dirty I wash them with care, oh these same clothes.
And when they lose a button or they tear I’m in these same clothes.
And those days when I dwell on not what is but what is not,
And I look at other people and I want the clothes they’ve got,
Until I realized I could have nothing but these same clothes.

And our children will know what it means to have a loving home,
But there are things they’ll have to figure out on their own.
And I promise I won’t ever try to make them wear these same clothes.

And when I leave this world please separate me from these same clothes.
Just burn them into ash, no one can ever wear these same clothes.
And if you knew me well you’d know how much I cherished you,
Remember that I wore these clothes the only way I know.

And I was happy and I was blessed and how I loved to wear these same clothes x3

-Chris Velan

Leave a Reply

