The fling.

This is what I had wanted. A summer fling. Little did I know I’d still be hung up on him come autumn…and he’d be long gone.

~~~

We sat by the lake, our feet dangling off the dock, my toes skimming the water. He spent hours telling me things that should have had me running for the hills. Instead, they left me intrigued. His tales of drunken escapades and wild nights made me a bit envious. I had always secretly wanted to be a “cool kid.”

His personal hygiene was fair, at best. His clothing options were that of a 16 year old skateboarder. His front tooth was chipped, and I realized that’s why he always kept his lips together when he smiled. For some reason, I was smitten. As we sat there on the dock, he noticed fish circling my toes. He laughed as I shrieked and shuffled my feet, swinging them around feverishly. “You’re so fucking adorable,” he said. We kissed while the sun set.

I didn’t realize it at the time, but I put that moment in my back pocket. It was cute and innocent. I didn’t think it was all that romantic while it was happening, but it was full of promise. Of hope. It could have been the beginning of something real. Instead, it was the middle of something temporary.

I haven’t spoken to him in a month. Not by my choice, although I wish it had been. He slowly disappeared from my life, much like the long, hot days of summer slowly change to the brisk, lively days of fall.

And I’ll put that in my back pocket too. Because, there’s nothing like a good summer fling.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jo
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 20:58:39

    oh how i hate the disappearing act that so many guys seem to do. it’s like what i always say… you know he likes you, but are you sure that he likes only you?

    online dating can be daunting. i remember when i first did it and got the guts to *gasp* put my picture up. i was paranoid that every other guy looking at me in the train or street was recognising me from the dating website haha! but the best thing bout online dating is that it allows you to “meet” people who you normally might have never crossed paths with. and it also allows you to “practice” your dating skills. but major drawback (other than occasionally meeting some rather strange ones) is that you know that everyone else is serial dating. and i think with too much serial dating and that whole there are plenty of other fish in the sea mentality, one tends not to spend enough time getting to know a particular person and trying to connect with each other.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

