This year was about…

My first Facebook status post of the new year was the following:

“2009 was about learning. 2010 is about living. I’m excited to do some serious living.”

Looking back on this year, I have got to say that I think I succeeded in that living part quite nicely. I started off the year with a hot, tropical affair, however the rest of the winter of 2010 was kind of a blur. I remember a lot of school work. A few  emotional breakdowns. Stress. Wine drinking at 3pm while writing papers. Having to make certain family decisions that nearly broke my spirit.

In spring I got a crush.

At the end of summer I was crushed.

In the fall I took some trips, bought a car, finished my thesis, started my last semester of graduate classes ever and fell in love with sushi. I went (and continue to go) out a lot more than I ever have before.

And now? I’m working out everyday and feel pretty confident with my body. I’m meeting new people. I’m going new places. I’m trying new things.

I think I’m living pretty gosh darn well.

So, if 2010 was about living . . . what should 2011 be about? I’ll be finishing up school, starting my career, hopefully moving out. Growing? Maybe 2011 will be about growing.

But I’ll never stop the living thing. It’s way too much fun.

What was your 2010 about? And what do you hope 2011 will bring??

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maura
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 20:12:22

    2010 was about tackling fear. 2011 is going to be about love, if I have anything to do with it 🙂

    Reply

  2. G/W
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 16:30:45

    Your 2010 seems like it was a lot of fun. I liked your account of your tropical affair, it felt really romantic… and bittersweet. But I guess that’s the fun in living.
    My 2010 was all about living too. It was one of the most fun years I’ve had in a while. 2011 will be lucky if it comes close.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

