Sunday Morning Truths

I’m a PostSecret girl. I start my Sunday mornings reading people’s secrets, drinking coffee and listening to Etta James. It’s my routine. Years ago my routine included going to church. I haven’t been feeling quite so holy the past few years, so I’ve kinda skipped out on that. Anyway, I decided to add a little something to my routine this morning, and that is to answer some more of these truths. I skipped day 14…I’ll go back, I promise. I just am not feeling very inspired by it at the moment.

So, without further adieu. . .

Day 15 – Something or someone you couldn’t live without, because you’ve tried living without it.

Now, I know this may seem like a dumb answer, but I’ve tried and failed miserably. During the summer, I was diagnosed with a bladder problem which may cause severe pain when you eat or drink certain food triggers. Coffee is one of them. In June I decided that I’d try to live a coffee-free life. I went to the fridge and got out a bottle of water instead of turning on the Keurig machine. It worked for approximately 3 weeks. And then my sleep cycle got royally messed up for some reason, and I started relying on Tylenol PMs to put me to bed and coffee to wake me up in the morning. I got out of the Tylenol PM phase, but coffee has stuck stronger than ever. I have at least 2 cups a day. I have to. It’s all mental, I’m sure. And I kind of don’t care. When I feel my bladder acting up, I take a pill. Coffee gives me too much joy to stop drinking it.

My name is Amanda, and I’m a coffeeholic.

(Edit: funnily enough, here was one of today’s secrets…)

Day 16 – Someone or something you definitely could live without.

Him. And him. And him…

It doesn’t matter what “him” I’m talking about, because it’s all the same.

I meet someone I start to fall for and, somewhere along the way, decide that I can’t see my life without them.

Then I am forced to.

I realize that I can live without them. I won’t die if they aren’t in my life, and I don’t. Sure, I mope around for a bit. I complain to my friends, I drink margaritas like they are water. I play lots of James Morrison.

But I live. I have no other choice. I refuse to give up. Somewhere along the way I understand why we are not together. I learn to accept it and realize that it was for the best.

Despite thinking the contrary in the beginning, I survive.

I more than survive.

I thrive.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. G/W
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 01:42:46

    I love Etta James… I love PostSecret too but it’s entirely too distracting. So I gift myself one of the books every now and then but I stay far far away from the site… although I love the one you posted up (that itch is coming back eek).
    I was addicted to caffeine a few months ago because my sister bought a caseload of coca cola while my mother was away. We lived off of it and then realized we were addicted when we skipped it at a restaurant and then felt like passing out an hour later. Coffee drinkers are a unique breed though- you guys are more like smokers. It’s the ritual that hooks you. The taste, the sipping, the warm mug. It all ties in, I guess.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

