The truth about mistakes

“Here’s the thing about mistakes. Sometimes, even when you know something’s a mistake, you gotta make it anyway.”


It’s been awhile since I’ve written a post based on these truth prompts. Maybe because so many other things have been occupying my thoughts that I didn’t need to be prompted for written material. Now, however, I find myself wanting to write, but not knowing exactly where to start. So the topic I want to write on will wait for now as I continue this 30 Days of Truth project…

 

Day 22 – Something you wish you hadn’t done in your life.

You know that quote up there? The one about mistakes? I completely agree.

See, I try not to live my life with any sort of regrets. And the best way that I know how, is to go with my heart. I rarely listen to  my brain in those situations that do not involve filling in Scantron sheets. And living a life without a huge amount of regret ultimately means that a few mistakes may be made along the way. And, although no one ever truly wants to make mistakes, they are what connect us as humans. The fact that we’re not perfect. We are all flawed in some way.

I’ve been thinking lately, as I drive up and down the snow-covered streets watching people shovel out their sidewalks and driveways, that snow makes us human. If you don’t understand, just watch someone shovel for a few minutes. They breathe heavily, wipe their forehead, adjust their gloves and hats, accidentally throw snow in their shoveling-partner’s face. They huff and puff and get the best workout of their life without ever going to the gym. They’re real. For a moment, those lawyers and bankers and doctors are not invincible.

They’re human.

We’re all human. We all make mistakes. But should we regret those mistakes? Should we wish that we hadn’t made those mistakes in the first place?

I can’t speak for anyone else, but, for myself, I honestly don’t think so.

There isn’t one thing that I can think of that I sincerely wish I hadn’t done in my life besides the trivial things. Like, for instance, I wish I hadn’t spent $10 on that supposedly amazing mascara that makes my lashes clump instead of giving them 90% more volume as advertised. Everything that I’ve done in my life has led me to where I am at this very moment. And although I’m not perfectly content, although I’m antsy and restless, although I don’t have it all figured out yet, I’m learning. I’m growing. Everyday I’m finding out more about myself by making these mistakes.

Like, for instance, I can bat my eyelashes perfectly fine without mascara.


Day 23 – Something you wish you had done in your life.

I think that I’ll answer this question when I’m 95.

Leave a Reply

